Coconut Oil moisturiser and shaving cream and smoothing serum…

I love coconut oil.

You know on Forrest Gump when Bubba is telling Forrest about his family business?

“You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, saute it. Dey’s uh, shrimp-kabobs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried. There’s pineapple shrimp, lemon shrimp, coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp soup, shrimp stew, shrimp salad, shrimp and potatoes, shrimp burger, shrimp sandwich. That- that’s about it.”

Well that’s what coconut oil is like. Minus the shrimp.

I first started using coconut oil when I began to no-poo. Whilst coconut oil and my hair didn’t turn out to be a match, it did turn out to do wonders with just about everything else!

Aside from being able to cook with it (recipe ideas above courtesy of Bubba), coconut oil, I have found, is the best shaving cream, moisturiser, body oil, lip balm anyone can think of! I don’t know quite what made me decide to take the coconut oil to the shower with me one day, but I haven’t looked back since. Prior to using coconut oil to shave with I was either using a shaving foam (which I always nipped myself with) or I was lathering up my body wash and using that (which I always nipped myself with). Now my failings with a razor may have more to do with my short-sightedness than the products I have been using, but all the same, the coconut oil is a wonderful substitute.

You really don’t need to put in any effort at all for this. The only suggestion I would make is that you add any essential oil to your coconut oil if you want something a little more potent. I myself mixed approximately 1/5th of almond oil with 4/5th’s coconut oil, but I have also used vanilla essence and vanilla flavouring at times which makes it smell simply delicious.

Now that you have your coconut oil, stick the bottle/ jar in a bowl and pour in hot water, making sure that the lid is sealed tight. After a few minutes you will notice that the solid substance is melting. Depending on the size of your jar and the bottle you plan on storing your oil in, you can start to pour the melted oil into your container. I suggest using a bottle with a small pouring hole so that you don’t spill or waste too much of your oil.

The best thing I find with using coconut oil as a shaving oil is that, because it is oil, it doesn’t run away under the water like those blasted foams and body washes!

You will find that the oil will solidify again at room temperature but if you just hold your bottle under the shower head whilst you’re showering then it will melt again in no time!

Once the coconut oil is melted it serves as a great smoothing serum (just make sure to use just a couple of drops and no more, as you would with any other smoothing serum), and a great face (or body) moisturiser. For the moisturiser there’s no need to melt the oil, but if you prefer it that way then go ahead!

 

I used a recycled moisturising cream pot which, after mixing the melted oil and 4 drops of vanilla essence together, i poured it into the pot and popped into the fridge. Whilst it will eventually solidify, if you’re impatient like me then the fridge is always a good option! If you don’t have any recycled pots then why not wait until you have finished your jelly pot (or, even better, just chuck it!). Un-purified petroleum jelly often contains poly aromatic hydrocarbons (PAH) which have been linked to cancer.

N.B. The featured image does state ‘Coconut Cream’ but the product is 100 per cent coconut oil.

Leave a Reply

