No-poo Diary: 22 Months

If you read my original post, you’ll know that my break into the world of no-pooing wasn’t all easy-riding. But, I stuck with it! Now I am two months away from having a two-year streak of non-toxin filled and naturally clean hair. YAY.

I can’t say things got easier for me. A couple of months ago I was on the verge of giving up and using normal shampoo again. But I couldn’t do it, so I looked around for non-toxic shampoos and all the ‘organic’ ones were still filled with toxins like Parabens, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Laureth Sulfate and Sodium Lauryl Sulphate. Even when I was at tipping point, the price just couldn’t be justified (£7 each!).

The reason I had hit a rut in my no-poo life was because I didn’t change my recipe. I recommend this to all you novice and experienced no-pooers out there- change. it. now. My hair got dank, I was rushing my recipes and to be honest I was kind of ashamed. Not about the way my hair looked- it looked pretty alright. It was more about the smell. I missed the moment you step onto the train in the morning and everyone’s head turns because you are the replica version of the models dancing around a waterfall in the name of Herbal Essences. I have also had a struggle with dandruff. I never, ever had dandruff in my life before no-pooing. However, I have to admit that as a mousy blonde it’s never been that big of an issue for me- if I had black hair I feel this may become a problem. Many people who have no-poo’d do say that bicarbonate of soda dries out your hair, so be warned, and don’t wash your hair more than three times a week! (Twice is ideal).

20170325_215050
22 months & no toxins!

However, after changing my recipe again and again I feel I am now at my happy hair stage. I added more bicarb and essential oils, but washed my hair less so just twice a week. Would you believe that helped?? Because of my hair tone, I also added chamomile tea, freshly squeezed lemon and honey. My hair feels delicious now! The thing that always concerned me about ‘normal’ store bought shampoo was that label which screams ‘DO NOT GET INTO EYES OR EAT’ (I’m paraphrasing). Surely, if it’s going on your head, the thing that protects your precious brain, it should be edible…?

When I go on holiday, to save on taking multiple liquids with me (and freaking out the security staff as I go along), I just take my body wash- Dr. Bronner’s, with me. It is this wonder castile soap that I started using when I moved to New York shortly after creating this blog. I buy a 946ml bottle and it lasts me foreveeeeeer. My boyfriend has even started using it too (yay! Non-toxin filled boyfriend!).

To combat the dry peaks I reach about every five or six months, I give myself an oil mask. I just massage melted coconut oil into my scalp and ends and wow….my hair is always so thankful for it.

So don’t give up your no-poo! Remember to listen to your hair and what it wants!

Leave a Reply

